Why are the pencil icons grayed out?
Most aspects of your Hired profile should be editable via your Profile tab if you select the pencil icon to the right of the section you want to update.
If you find a pencil icon is grayed out/disabled, this means you left another section open (you may only edit one section at a time). Return to the previous section you were editing and press Save or Cancel. You can then move on and edit the next section as desired.